HKonJ

Yesterday, I drove with a group of Duke students to Raleigh, North Carolina to march at the HKonJ’s People Assembly.  The peaceful protest was against a series of changes the NC state legislature had made in the past year and that they were planning to continue once they reconvened.  Some of the  goals speakers mentioned included raising the minimum wage, increasing funding for public schools, providing health care for all, and ending fracking.

While I mainly attended the event out of curiosity, I was glad I did.  It made me realize how little I knew about what was going on in the government and how impressive a passionate, well-organized demonstration can be.  Reverend Barber spoke at the end and I was amazed at how powerful his speech was.  In my opinion, it had the perfect balance of facts and emotion that captured the moral injustice that the rally aimed to upturn.

Forward Together, Not One Step Back!
Forward Together, Not One Step Back!
HKonJ

Leave a Reply

